Time to face the music

Warning! This post is a reflection and may (will) contain a lot of mumbo jumbo.

This will probably sound like a stereotype on MACE blogs by now, but my posting activity has not flourished recently. Or not to the depth that it should’ve probably. And today the lesson was all about depth.

We had a great speaker in class today, named Tim Harries, who conducts qualitative research for Kingston University. While I won’t bore you with technical details, there is one thing I definitely took away from his lesson today: be curious. (Or like Steve Jobs liked to say “Stay hungry. Stay Foolish” – quoting Rashmi Bansal). Now that might seem a bit obvious to some, but it is actually harder and deeper than at first glance. The ability to be curious is something I have had to develop in my adolescence (it started there as a kid, but lost it on the way somewhere) to the point that I now ask as many questions as a 4 year old. That is why I’ll need to work on in my interviews for the dissertation. Because my dissertation really relies on those interviews, it relies on getting behind the statement “no, advertising is not dead” or “yes, advertising is dead” down to the reason why.

And maybe half way in the post would be a good (no, a late) time to explain my title. I’ve been avoiding writing for a long time. I’ve been avoiding putting my (rambled, scrambled) thoughts out there. And I’ve been purposely avoiding the ink that lets me write for advertising. Why? This is the time when I feel small. It’s the time I feel like I’m not perhaps making the best steps, both in my research as I will go to interview Big people and in my career as I push out all thoughts of what I should be doing in order to get one by hiding behind coursework. I just feel small. I guess finishing something you’re good at (being a nerd in my case) and something you love (studying – here comes the nerd again) makes you feel small. But it’s time to face the music.

How are coping (did you cope as a student) facing reality willingly or not?

4 thoughts on “Time to face the music

  1. I feel like its in cycles of activity. Can’t always get the flow, or the need to express ourselves. But when we do, we do…I even wrote a poem about writer’s block today. The drive is there, just the passion is sleeping.

  2. I really enjoyed the lecture too. I’ll be relying heavily on qualitative interviews so it was very relevant and useful…pity I had to leave early for the mock Dragon’s Den..but it was great anyway 🙂

    Here’s some food for thought for your dissertation – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e512_OxFWyM

    oh, and I’m quite certain you’re not the only one suffering from the horrible habit of procrastination! I’m having a hard time too, though I’ve found that its easier to digest if you break it down into sections, and not think of it as a 15K piece of work. It’s all psychological, but at least its not so overwhelming…

Leave a Reply

